Vienna Secession

The Vienna Secession is a movement that was formed in 1897 by a group of Austrian painters, sculptors, designers and architects. They resigned from the Association of Austrian Artists in protest against its support for traditional styles (hence “Secession”). Prominent members of the group included architects Josef Hoffmann and Joseph Maria Olbrich and artists Gustav Klimt and Koloman Moser.

Joseph Maria Olbrich. Secession Building. Vienna, Austria. completed 1898.