The Jewish holy scriptures, beginning with the Creation and concluding with the death of Moses. The Torah is organized in five books: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy.  Traditionally the words of the Torah are written on a parchment scroll in Hebrew. Reading from Torah scrolls is a central element of Jewish congregational worship.

torahscrollA Torah scroll.