(Arabic: القرآن , “recitation”). The sacred book of Islam, believed by Muslims to be a revelation from God. The Qur’an is divided into 114 chapters (suwar) of various lengths. (Also spelled Koran).

Screen Shot 2018-12-19 at 2.42.10 PMPage from a Qur‘an (surah 18). Ink and gold on vellum. 9th or early 10th c. Chester Beatty Library, Dublin, Ireland.